Posted by: Toni Sprandel | November 8, 2013

Our Journey of Faith

How can I put into the words, the experiences Larry and I have had over this past week?  Our emotions have run the gamut of human experiences.

This past week we have been in St Petersburg, Florida.  We have not been there on vacation.  To me, personally, it was a week of Hell.  If Hell is anything like what we have gone through, I fear greatly for all of those who are headed that way.

Almost 4 years ago, Larry & I purchased a wheelchair accessible, handicap ramp van from a seller on Ebay.  Unless you can personally go and inspect a vehicle or send a certified mechanic to go and check it out, please, do not take a chance, no matter how “nice and pretty” it looks.

As soon as we took possession of the vehicle we knew it had problems.  But we were totally unaware of the exact condition of the van.  After an attempt on our part to have the seller make restitution to us, we contacted a lawyer in the area he is in and spoke with her.  We contracted with her and she sent him a letter asking him to take the van back and give us our money back.  He never responded.

It was finally decided that we needed to move forward with the issue because the problems with the van and its condition were such that we knew we had been “had”.  Our lawyer filed suit against the seller and the journey began.  In April of 2012 we made our first trip to Tampa to meet our lawyer and give our depositions.  At that time an Auto Damage Expert examined the vehicle and it was declared to be unsafe and unfit to be on the road.  And we still had a 1000 mile journey to get home.  Safe, we did not feel.

Getting home safely was our goal.  About 40 miles from home the van began acting up and we were unsure if we would make it home.  We did and I declared to Larry, we were done driving that van and I took the license plates off and it has sat in our driveway since then.

This past Monday was the beginning of what we thought was the end to our long and arduous journey with that van.  But what transpired was not pretty.  I have never in my life ever had such a strong and pervasive sense of evil!  I felt like I was in the presence of satan himself.  My urge was to get up and run, every time the opposing lawyer got up to speak.  The heart wrenching, gut wrenching feelings of being around and near to such evil was incredible.  The fact that someone could try to distort the law and maintain that evil is ok just made me ill.

I want to Praise the LORD for His divine presence during this time.  I wrote I Thessalonians 5:16-18 on a piece of paper and just kept repeating it, writing it and praying it.  I also kept writing and praying Psalm 43:1-3.  The LORD truly sustained and upheld us during this time.  Thursday when things were going so poorly, I just kept praying that the LORD would contend with those who content with us his dearly loved children.  And my undying love for Him allowed me to pray, “For yet I will praise the LORD.”

I can continue to praise Him because He has not changed, He has not forsaken us, He has not left us.  He continues to be Sovereign over ALL things.  And I continue to believe that Romans 8:28 was meant for just such a time as this: “For ALL things work together for good to those who love God”.

After 4 days of legal wrangling, the judge who had never presided over a case like this (he is a family, domestic judge), explained he was unable to make a judgment on the law of what should be given to the jurors, so he declared a mistrial.  Have you ever felt like you have been shoved through a wringer washer and pulled out the other side?  We did.  Our desire and need for closure on the issue has been denied.

We have no idea what the future holds, but I can truly assure you, I do KNOW who holds that future, thank you dearest LORD Jesus.  Ultimately, through this trial, our faith and trust is strengthened  and the LORD is glorified as we allow His perfect Will to be done in our lives.

One of the biggest blessings of the week was when our son flew down to be with us so we would not be alone.  The blessing of our daughter’s constant contact with us was also huge.  She was unable to get away to join us.  Without the support of our kids, their families, and all the love and support of you our dearest friends and neighbors, we would have been lost.  By the grace, love and compassion of the LORD, we made it through.


Responses

  1. I am so sorry for all that you have been through … always remember that He is the God of the impossible … I’m sure you have and forgive me if I am saying something out of line, but have you forgiven the seller and all who were working against you in the court of law. Have you asked the Lord to do a good work on their hearts, and turn hearts of stone into hearts of flesh. I believe you will be praising the Lord even more so in the future because of ‘impossible’ turnarounds of which He could only be the Author of. In the meantime I pray that your lives will be flooded with His peace and the acknowledgment that He is in control.

    • I apologize for not replying sooner. You are right, I need to be praying for their salvation. I believe I have forgiven them, I hold no anger or condemnation toward any of them. I feel so sorry for them and their misguided hearts. May the LORD open their hearts and minds to Who He is and soften their hearts that they may understand truth and see the Light. Thank you for your loving comments. I really appreciate them. Love you!

  2. Dear Grandma…!!
    been long time not see you active blogging. I miss you so…so..much.. 😦

    • Yes, dear Karina, it has been too long. Some days all I can do is hold onto the LORD for His strength, wisdom and power. I love you and pray things are going well for you. I miss you a lot! Hugs to you, love
      Grandma!

      • Amen! I miss you so much, grandma. Send my regards to Grandpa Larry.

      • I will do that! :):)

  3. I’m so sorry you’ve had such a horrible week, but glad to hear how your children have been a blessing to you. Praying for the Lord’s provision and advocacy. ((hugs))

    • Thanks Rene, I really appreciate your love and prayers. It was a tough week. I would not have been able to make it without the LORD’s constant presence. I hope things are goign well for you and your famiy. Love you dear sister. 🙂

  4. I have so missed your blog. You are a testimony to keeping the faith! I am so sorry you are going through this right now, but persevere, dear sister. God is indeed faithful. We don’t understand His timing, or why He allows such trials, but we know He is faithful.
    May you feel HIs light, love, peace and presence during this difficult time. I will keep you in my prayers. Blessings!

    • Thanks Julie, I really miss all my blogging family. Life is so crazy right now and I some days I pray to just have it all over with. Jesus, come quickly!! Thank you for your continued prayers. I know that many are supporting us and lifting us up in prayer. Without His great love and mercy, I would have crumbled! Love you dear sister! 🙂

  5. Toni, I believe God used you and Larry in that court of law to reveal himself to those attorneys, jurors, and judge because we prayed He would. Who knows what your experience will mean for eternity? My prayer now is that you will have a sense of peace, that God’s will will be done in this struggle, and that Jesus will continued to be glorified. Love you. And so appreciate your testimony!

    • I pray that our testimony will bring eternal blessings for anyone in that courtroom did not know the LORD. Peace is something we need during this time. I turned it all over to the LORD, now I need to just remember to not try to take it from Him. Thank you for your continued love and support of us! 🙂

  6. Toni, I am so sorry for all you and your husband have gone through. Please know the Lord is using you to inspire your readers to persevere in their faith. Your unwavering faith is such a blessing to me. Your perseverance is challenging us all to persevere as well.

    • Thank you so much Shelly! I know we have been chosen, “before the creation of the world” for a time such as this, to be used by Him. It is truly humbling and an honor to be His witness wherever we are and whatever we are doing. To be doing His Will is incredible. I am so not worthy, but so grateful He allows me to be a part of what He is doing. I love you dear sister! 🙂

  7. What a horrible experience and one that should not be!

    I had a smaller, but similar experience when I bought a snow blowing John Deere tractor. It ran when there, but when in cold weather would barely run and the snow blower didn’t even fit the tractor (it was off but sitting near when I bought it). I paid a much too high price for it because I needed it, and because I pushed past a check in my spirit when I should have heeded.

    When I called the seller he was throwing a party with the proceeds and I could hear them laughing and mocking me. He immediately moved and I was stuck with a worthless tractor that I still have, but have never looked at again, because I can’t bear the sight of it and it is of no use to me; I won’t ‘stick’ someone else with it.

    Oh Toni you are so sweet and thoughtful, how terrible that anyone would take advantage of you and your husband in your situation. May God have mercy on his soul for he surely needs it.

    I love you and pray for kinder and peaceful days for you and Larry. May God give you both the ability to forgive remove the anger and frustration and may He send someone to remove that piece of junk from your yard so you won’t have that reminder to look at ever again!

    • Yes, I have forgiven all 3 of them, the 2 guys and the lawyer. I pray that through this all they would all come to a saving knowledge of Jesus. I am so sorry for your situation. These are the reasons I pray for Jesus to return “right now!” I am so saddened when His children have to endure treatment like this. I am ready for Heaven and the “sweet life” with Him and all His children! Love you so much my dear sister! 🙂

      • Love you too Toni! Hanging in there with you!


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories