Posted by: Toni Sprandel | October 4, 2013

What shortcut am I taking?

A shortcut to work?  A shortcut at work with my work?  Am I shortcutting my family/friends?  Do I shortcut my responsibilities whether at home, work or church?  What about my relationship with God?  Am I shortcutting that too?

First, some shortcuts are wonderful, needed and very helpful.  But some are not.  I was thinking about my relationship to Christ and how I came to know Him.

At first, I just thought that since I knew there was a God, and if I believed in Him, I was going to be all right.  I just trust in God and I get my free pass to Heaven.  Ummm… no, not going to happen.  A wonderful Saint, who has gone on to be with Jesus, explained I could not shortcut my attempt to get to Heaven to be with God.  I figured it was God & me and that was all I needed, right?

Well, not exactly.  She explained to me that God is Holy, perfect, pure and unattainable in my sinful state.  What??  She went on to explain that you just can’t “go to God”.  That would be taking a shortcut that does not exist.  She said there is one Man between the Holy God and that is the Person of Jesus Christ.

She went on to explain to me that it was like a valley, with me standing on one edge, the open gorge and the Holy God on the other side.  She said I had no access to the Holy God if I did not use the bridge that God had ordained to be used.  She told me that if I accepted Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross as my payment for my sins, repented and asked for forgiveness, Jesus would gain me the access I could not get on my own.  There is no shortcut to God.  We must go through Jesus.

I have heard people say they “found God”, but they don’t mention Jesus.  First, when did God get lost? We are lost, not Him.  And then I think that maybe they mean they have come to know Him.  But how can they get to know God, if they don’t know Jesus?

Looking back at an old Hymnal, so many of those great hymns spoke of following Jesus, being a soldier of the cross, and that we lay down our lives for Jesus as thanks for all He has done for us.  I am just bewildered that we in the church are becoming “politically correct” so that we don’t offend anyone with Jesus’ name.  If I only talk about GOD, and research shows 90% of the people believe in “God”, am I shortcutting  Jesus out of the picture, so that I don’t offend anyone and everyone is happy?

Jesus knew that there was and would aways be opposition to Him.  But that didn’t make him shortcut the system and say, ‘”Ok GOD, you take over now, they don’t like me and my message, you handle it from here.”

Jesus didn’t take a shortcut, even though his life was uncomfortable and uneasy at times.  We can’t either.  The world needs to know the truth, that Jesus is Way, the Truth and The Life, and when He says no one comes to the Father, except through me, He isn’t kidding.   And He even goes a step further to say that if we abide in Him, He will abide in us.  Unless we are wearing the righteousness of Christ, we have no access to GOD.

There is no shortcut to God, only the path that the LORD GOD Almighty made for us, it is known as the “Narrow Gate”, and His name is Jesus.

Responses

  1. Brilliant post, thank you … and only Jesus has and is the Key …

    • Thank you so much! I am humbled by your very kind comments. May the LORD bless you richly! 🙂

  2. Hi grandma, Good evening.
    Wonderful and awesome thought! Really love it so much. 🙂 Blessings.

    • You are welcome! Baking chocolate chip cookies now with our grandson. The house smells so good! Love you! 🙂

      • Woow ! Baking Chocolate chip cookies. ..! Yummy. .!! Love you too, grandma. Oh by the way, how’s Larry condition. Getiing better?

      • Yes, Praise the LORD! 🙂

  3. Choice memories and self understanding opportunities God bestows~ Blessings friend ~ Faithfully Debbie

  4. What a wonderful perspective. I never thought of it like that, taking a shortcut. I will certainly be more aware, and make sure I don’t shortcut Jesus right out of the picture. Yikes! Such a great post, Toni!

    • Thank you! I was worried about the post offending some. It wasn’t meant to be legalistic or judgmental. I just am so jealous for Jesus, I don’t want people to forget Him on their way to our Heavenly Father. 🙂

  5. Great post! I think about the short cuts we take at work. Sometimes they work, but usually the short cut leads to disaster. I appreciate your insight on this so much. Thank you for a very insightful post. Blessings.

  6. Thank you so much for this post. Such an important message, beautifully said. May we never be ashamed of the Gospel of Christ. I want to recognize when someone wants to take that shortcut to God and be bold enough to tell them there is no such thing! Jesus only! God bless you, my friend. And thanks again for sharing your heart.

    • It is so hard. I am sometimes so afraid because I don’t want to hurt feelings, but the need to share the truth in love gives me the needed shove to get it on paper. I pray that what comes out comes out with love at the heart. Thank you! 🙂

  7. I realized I was saying ‘God’ more than ‘Jesus’ after hearing a sermon a few months ago. If Jesus is the sweetest name we know, as the old hymn says, and if He is the way, the truth, and the life— and I believe He is— then we shouldn’t take that shortcut. Thank you for the reminder, Toni! 🙂

    • You are welcome and your loving support means so much to me. I am glad that it spoke to you! Thank you Rene! 🙂

  8. AMEN!!!!!
    There is no other name under heaven given by which we may be saved. Thanks for this post Toni. Let us exalt His name together! Blessings!

    • Thank you Sue. The other verse that kept going through my head was “at the name of Jesus every knee shall bow and tongue confess that He is LORD.” Not God’s name, but Jesus’. I really appreciate your support! Love you! 🙂

  9. Lovely way of making the point. It is so easy to try to invent our own way to God (our own shortcut) instead of following God’s way. God bless you, Toni. It’s been wonderful having you involved at Calvary Training. Allow me to suggest The Teen Theme, as well. It’s my daughter’s blog. She’s been at it for three years now.

  10. Thank you for challenging me to see my faith from a diff perspective.


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

