Posted by: Toni Sprandel | October 1, 2013

Abide in Me

We had a great Bible study last night.  We are working our way through the book of John.  It is a great book.

We were discussing Chapter 15.  In this chapter, John shares Jesus’ words as He describes our relationship with Himself and His Father.  Jesus starts out in verse 1 saying “I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser.”  I looked up the meaning of the word vinedresser and it means “gardener”.  We believers are the branches.

In verse 4 Jesus tells His disciples: “Abide in Me, and I in you.  As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself unless it abides in the vine, so neither can you unless you abide in Me.”  First, I think this is so personal.  Jesus is asking us to come to Him, make ourselves at home and stay there.  And not only that, He wants to come and be with us!  Do you realize how totally amazing, incredible and awesome this comment is?  If we come to Him, He will come to us.

Verse 5 says it perfectly:  “I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.”  Jesus let us know, we need Him to bear fruit.  So what fruit is He talking about? The fruit of soulwinning is one, but the fruit of the Spirit are: love, joy, peace, patience,  kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.  These will be evident in increasing measure as we draw nearer to Christ.  For us to be able to bear fruit, we have to allow ourselves to be influenced, guided and directed by Jesus.  Without Him in our life, our efforts will be “fruitless”.  We can not do it on our own.

This morning as I wasitting here thinking about these scriptures, my thought was; if we live our lives through Christ, it will bring much glory, honor and praise to the LORD.  How much does my life reflect Christ’s?  Am I abiding in Him?  His life was the embodiment of the fruit of the Spirit.  Does my life resemble His?

As I draw closer to Christ, abiding in Him, these fruit will become more evident in my life.  As I live my life for Christ, these fruit will be who I am.  Christ will be seen in me.

Dear LORD, I pray that as I draw nearer unto Thee, the fruit of the Spirit will be seen in me.  Help me to abide in the vine, and I thank you for Your presence in me.  In Jesus name, Amen.

Responses

  1. Dear grandma
    thank you for posting this devotional. It becomes my another source morning devotional this morning 🙂 Amen. Abide in Me.many blessings to you, Grandma.

    • Thank you! It has been rough couple of days. Grandpa got another infection and is on medicine. I am so glad your liked the devotional. I miss talking to you dear one! Have a great day today! I love you! 🙂

      • Hi grandma, Good evening.
        Oow I am so sorry 😦 And how’s his condition now? Is he should take a special medical treatment? Pray for Grandpa Larry for his infection. Miss talk with you too,grandma. ♥ you.

  2. This is wonderful. Thank you!

    • You are very welcome. I really struggled writing it, so I appreciate your gracious comment! 🙂

  3. Hi Toni, I just stopped in after posting tonight and am delighted to see you posted the same scriptures that I used. I love it when God does that! Be blessed and thank you for a great post! Lori

    • Thank you Lori for your support of my blog! I look forward to reading yours!

  4. Hi Toni….

    “For us to be able to bear fruit, we have to allow ourselves to be influenced, guided and directed by Jesus. Without Him in our life, our efforts will be “fruitless”. We can not do it on our own.”

    Great application of this text. When the Lord said..”Without me ye can do nothing” it is so true. We all have a tendency to forget this great truth from time to time. Thanls for the great reminder of the central purpose of a Christian’s life on earth.

    • Thank you. I truly appreciate your loving support and encouragement towards me. The LORD has placed me right where He wants me to be. For this I am grateful. Have a spectacular day in the LORD! 🙂

  5. We seem to easily forget and forsake the realization that subsisting isn’t true living or producing unless connected to the Source of LIFE — in Israel there are vines that are over a hundred years with leaves the size of 8 inches wide, Prize winners in size but, bear no fruit… Such is our ego, we get caught up in size but not the Source! Blessings Toni, Faithfully Debbie

    • Thank you for your gracious comments. You are so correct. We must stay connected to the Source. 🙂

  6. I love this last lesson of Christ. I think it’s no accident it was His last. Christ gave us so much imagery and information here. My favorite part is also to abide in Him. Without being in Him I will not grow and will not produce fruit.
    Thank you for a wonderful post. Blessings.


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

