Posted by: Toni Sprandel | September 12, 2013

A dwelling place for the LORD

Psalm 132:1-5 (NASB – BibleGateway.com)

132 Remember, O Lord, on David’s behalf,
All his affliction;
2 How he swore to the Lord
And vowed to the Mighty One of Jacob,
3 “Surely I will not [a]enter my house,
Nor [b]lie on my bed;
4 I will not give sleep to my eyes
Or slumber to my eyelids,
5 Until I find a place for the Lord,
[c]A dwelling place for the Mighty One of Jacob.”

This morning as I read this, I was in awe of these verses.  Look at David’s commitment to the LORD.  David was sacrificing a lot to find a place for the LORD to dwell.

This made me wonder: “Are we that driven, committed or self-sacrificing to find a dwelling place for the LORD in our lives?”  Hmmm…  See David lived in a time when to even get near to the LORD you had to go to the tabernacle/temple of the LORD.  Today, we now have the presence of the Holy LORD God Almighty, living within the hearts of believers.  The Holy Spirit is that presence.  We don’t have to “go” anywhere.

So do we give up sleep to make Him feel welcome in our lives?  Are we willing to sacrifice our “me” time to allow Him to speak to our hearts.  We believers today are so blessed to have His presence available at all times.  But am I willing to sacrifice to make a dwelling place for the Might One of Jacob in my life?  What am I will to give up, to make a place for the LORD?

Dear LORD Jesus, you have graciously given me the gift of your life.  I love you and thank you for that.  Enable me, by the power of your Spirit living in me, to allow You to find a dwelling place in my heart that is acceptable and pleasing to You.  May I make whatever sacrifice, as David did, to make this happen.  Amen.

Responses

  1. Amen! Good morning, Grandma.
    I really love this post 🙂 thank you for sharing. Oh by the way, how are you and How’s Larry? Been few days not read your post. Many love and Blessing to you.


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

