Posted by: Toni Sprandel | August 29, 2013

Salt: Too much, too little or just right?

During the Pastor’s message on Sunday he mentioned our need to be salt and light in this world.  And as my mind does, it wandered.  (Sorry Pastor Duane!)

The word “salt” hit me and made me think.  Jesus told us in Matthew 5:13 that we were to be the salt of the earth.

But, as a believer who is living in a fallen, sinful world, and trying to be the salt; how much salt should I use??  I know that when I cook (very infrequently), using salt is necessary to enhance the flavor of the food.  My palate is no where near those of the judges on the show “Chopped”, so how much do I need?

I thought about it this way: if I don’t use enough, I will not have any effect on those around me.  Like salt, if it has no flavor, it has no value.  If I make no effort to affect the world around me, I am of little value to God.  If I use too much, I will be an irritant and possibly shove away those who truly need to hear the Good News.  So how do I know what is “just right”?  When I am spending the time reading the Word, praying and meditating on it, I will be just right.  The Holy Spirit’s mission is to indwell and counsel believers, He leads and guides us.  He will show me, just how much is just right.  My witness to the world will then affect others positively, just as seasoning brings out the best flavor in food.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you so much for providing me with Your Holy Spirit and Your Word, to be salt in this fallen world.  May I be just the right amount.  LORD I want to be of value to you so I ask that you lead, guide and direct me.  May I positively affect those around me who need to hear of You.  Thank you dear LORD Jesus.  In Your Holy and precious Name I pray, Amen.

Responses

  1. Amen! Grandma, I really love your writing. I still longing to be salt and light around us and God’love will showed to others 🙂 Thank you for sharing this lovely post. Have a blessed day, grandma 🙂

    • You are welcome! Have a great sleep! 🙂

  2. I had to giggle at the mind wandering part – because I do sometimes! Gees! It’s bad! But I also often think of how much is too much or too little. Thank You Holy Spirit for leading us

  3. Toni, there is no doubt you are just the right amount of saltiness because you are ministering to so many by your posts. You are a source of encouragement and challenge for me. Blessings to you today!

    • Oh Shelly I am so humbled by your words! I just want to share my heart and my questions. I feel like maybe someone else has that same question. I am so grateful for the Word and the Holy Spirit and how He leads me to the truth. Thank you for your wonderful encouragement to me! 🙂

  4. I really appreciated this today. I want to be telling people of Jesus but I don’t want to put them off, either. It’s good to be reminded that the first step is to be in the Word and standing close to the Lord. He’s a great cook and knows exactly how much salt is needed!

    • AMEN! I really struggle with that too! Have a great holiday weekend! 🙂

  5. Very well said and very important point. As you say allow Him to lead us and try to always put ourselves in their place…. if the shoe was reversed would it be too much or too little? Lord bless.

    • Thank you so much Bro Rob for your comment! I am so blessed to have you follow my blog. I covet your honest feedback. As a layperson, I never want to get into “theology” too much. I just want to share my “heartology”, how the LORD touches my heart. 🙂

  6. Yes! The Holy Spirit will help us discern if we are open to His leading, because I think, too, different circumstances call for differing amounts of salt just like with our food, wouldn’t you say? I like a lot of salt on my French fries, but I wouldn’t want it on a strawberry. Thank you for the reminder, Toni! 🙂

    • Rene, you are so welcome! Have a great weekend! 🙂

  7. It is sometimes so hard to find this ‘just right’ amount. I am thankful that even when I miss the mark, so to speak, and overdue it with the saltiness, God uses it anyway. He brings it around for good by teaching me and growing me. I have also seen Him turn it around for good with the person to whom I got too salty! thanks, Toni

  8. Marvelous ! I suppose we are to let the Holy Ghost direct us through each day and if we’ve a willing heart and mind, He’ll use us accordingly.

    • Amen! Agree, he uses us accordingly, sometimes I am not a willing helper! Praise the LORD for the Holy Ghost!!

  9. Toni, This is such a great post. I love to cook so it makes so much sense to me. Great writing. Thanks so much. Blessings!

    • I am honored to receive such a compliment from a true writer. Thank you. I will continue to pray for you and your family. 🙂


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

