Posted by: Toni Sprandel | August 6, 2013

Goals: What is your life’s goal?

Last evening at our Bible study, one of the guys shared about some goals a friend of his had.  The really neat thing was: the friend had accomplished them!  So this got me to thinking.

Goals are awesome, they give us a path to take and something to work for.  But if you are anything like me, they are self-given and if I don’t see results right away, I just give up.  I think this happens way too often in my Christian walk.

When we accept Christ and become a child of God, there is only 1 goal.  And that goal is: to become more like Christ.  The good thing is, we can do this.  The bad thing is, we can’t do it by ourselves, we need help.

With a personal goal, to attain something in the here and now, it is of our own self-effort.  With attaining a Christ-like character, we have help.  We are not alone in our efforts.

You see, as a Christian (Christ follower), we are given a wonderful gift, the Holy Spirit.  When Christ returned to heaven, He told the Apostles to stay in Jerusalem until they received the promised gift of the Holy Spirit so that they would be empowered from on High.  Notice, the power they were going to use to change the world was NOT their own, but their power source would be given to them from ON HIGH.  All the power of the Almighty LORD God, would be available to them.  Here’s the really awesome part, my friends, that same power is available to us.  It is a gift!  Upon receiving Christ as our LORD and Saviour, we are given this gift!

For us to accomplish any goal, it takes great time, effort and will.  But the greatest thing about becoming more like Christ, we aren’t doing it on our own strength and power.  John 3:30 says this: “He must increase, but I must decrease.”  Daily, we seek the face of the LORD, ask Him to help us to surrender the reins of our life to the Holy Spirit’s power within us.  See, the power is already there, we just have to choose to use it!   We are then empowered, our power source isn’t from what “I can do” but what the Spirit of the LORD enables me to do.

Allowing the Spirit of the LORD to control my life, becoming more like Christ is a goal I can attain.  What is my life’s goal?  I want to be like Christ.  And the best thing is, I know I can accomplish it, because I have help!  What is your life’s goal?

Dear LORD, I am so grateful for Your gift of the Holy Spirit to me.  With You working in my life, I can accomplish any goal that You set before me.  Thank you for your love, grace, mercy and peace.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Responses

  1. Thank you for your challenging and reassuring words. I want to be more like Christ, too and am thankful he promises to help me in my efforts.

  2. Amen! Great writing and thought grandma 🙂 have a blessed day.

  3. My goal is to fully surrender struggles to God. So often I try fixing things on my own rather than allowing the power of Christ inside me to work, as you said. Another goal is to pray every morning and all through out the day as a way to get closer to God and fight through temptations and struggles. Awesome post, Toni!

    • Thank you Sara! I believe that if we are surrendering all to Him, He will grant those desires! I love your spirit!

  4. When we accept Christ and become a child of God, there is only 1 goal. And that goal is: to become more like Christ. The good thing is, we can do this. The bad thing is, we can’t do it by ourselves, we need help.

    What a great few thoughts! If all of us, as Christians, come to this basic understanding of our role in life, this world would be a different place. Thanks for another inspiring post. Lord bless.

  5. Thanks for the challenge to make the main thing the main thing, dear one!

    \o/

  6. What a challenge to keep my focus on the Lord with no distractions and become more like him. Challenge accepted! 🙂

  7. This is a great post. I recommend you repost it January 1 when we think about all our goals for the new year. You are so right, only one goal really matters. Blessings, Julie

    • Thank you! I will try to remember to do that! Have a great week!


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

