Posted by: Toni Sprandel | August 3, 2013

I’m tired of waiting LORD……

Has anyone besides me ever felt like this?

I’m tired, mentally, physically and spiritually.  I feel like I am constantly putting my life on hold waiting.  And waiting, and waiting.  Some days I truly feel like David when he cried out to the LORD in Psalm 13.

Psalm 13:1 “How long, O LORD? Will You forget me forever?  How long will You hide Your face from me?  2 How long shall I take counsel in my soul, having sorrow in my heart all the day? How long will my enemy be exalted over me? 3 Consider and answer me, O LORD my God…”  When I speak of “my enemy” I am referring to the arthritis and pain that Larry is suffering with.  It continues to rob him of his limited mobility and the joy of his salvation.

Day after day, we wake to see if the healing miracle at the Hand of the LORD has happened.  And when we find his back is no better, a little better or a little worse, the darkness tries to creep in and darken our moods.  Waiting is always the hardest part of trusting the LORD, waiting upon Him to work His Will, His Way.

O LORD, some days I get so tired of waiting, putting my hope in, ‘maybe tomorrow?’  But then, in Your still small voice You speak to my heart and reassure me that I need to do as so many have told me “take it one day at a time”.  The Apostle Paul shared in Philippians 4:11, “…I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am.”  To be content today, no matter what happens, this is my prayer.

The only possible way that I can truly be content is by trusting in the faithfulness of the LORD.  David goes on to say in verse 5 of Psalm 13: “But I have trusted in Your lovingkindness; my heart shall rejoice in Your salvation.”

Even though I am tired of waiting, I will continue to place my hope and my trust in the lovingkindness of the LORD, knowing that He is leading me where He wants in His timing.  I will find my rest in Him.

Responses

  1. Toni, what a difficult struggle you have but what an inspiration you are to others. Waiting is one of the hardest things we have to do and you are doing it with such strength and amazing faith. You may feel discouraged but it is clear you know where your hope comes from. I have been encouraged by your words and your steadfast faith in the midst of very challenging circumstances. Your steadfast faith in the waiting is blessing so many others May the God who heals hear your cry and answer your prayers. Praying for peace and comfort for you and David!

    • Thank you Shelly, your encouraging words mean so much to me. Today was just a day I felt spent. Thank you for lifting me up!

  2. Toni, If you read my reply to your comment on my last post you will know why you feel so tired. It is OK to feel tired mercies are new every morning! I still have time set aside to pray for you and will till I am called home. You are a Hero another reason to be tired. God Bless, James

    • Thank you James. Your comment was the first one I read this morning and I was near tears. The love you shared with me was so evident. Thank you for encouraging me when I was feeling so low. May the LORD continue to bless you! Love you dear brother!

  3. Oh yes, I’ve been there, I’ve felt like that many times before. But then I gave myself the same pep talk from the word of God that you wrote about here. It encourages me with the same sounding voice to my heart. Waiting is the hardest part of trusting, no doubt! But it’ll be worth it in end. Praying for peace and patience while you wait.

    • Thank you for being there with me. I truly appreciate your comment and love.

  4. Ah, Toni – do you see it?
    Yes, David cried out…
    …but there WAS a tomorrow in his future!

    The time he had waiting prepared him to be the greatest king Israel ever had.

    There’s a hope for your future!! (Jer. 29:11)

    Rejoicing for you today, asking Abba to strengthen the hands that hang down and the weak knees. You can do this! I can’t wait to see what He’s molding and shaping you for!

    Love you, sweet sister!
    \o/

    • Thank you for lifting me up! And reminding me I do have a future hope. This life is not all there is. Love you too! 🙂

  5. Toni, may God bless you for your loving patience with your husband’s illness. I have had a similar journey with my back and it has not been fun. The thing that was on my heart to share, though, is about the waiting part. I am waiting for a prodigal son to return to God, and had gotten my hopes up pretty high this weekend that things were finally turning around only to have that hope dashed downward once again. When I read your post, it encouraged me to get back up and hope again. Without us knowing it, God uses our writing about our own struggles to help another going through something else. I especially love how you ended your post, “Even though I am tired of waiting, I will continue to place my hope and my trust in the lovingkindness of the LORD, knowing that He is leading me where He wants in His timing. I will find my rest in Him.” That is the place I am at as well. Blessings

    • Thank you for sharing your heart. Romans 8:28 is again proved out. All things work together for good. We can share each others burdens and that is exactly what Jesus wants us to do. Now I know a specific prayer for you, I thank the LORD for you and your heart dear sister! 🙂

  6. Been there… still there but under different circumstances. Like you said taking one day at a time and continually putting our hope and trust in the lovingkindness of the Lord, knowing He is wise and loving allows us to find rest in Him. Thank you, Toni! ((hugs))

    This quote often helps me when things don’t seem to make sense: “The wisdom of God will bring about the best possible results, by the best possible means, for the most possible people, for the longest possible time. –A seminary professor (paraphrasing? Hendrik Berkhof, Dutch theologian)

  7. May His speaking to you strengthen you! Daniel 10:19
    Much love dear Sister Toni!

  8. I greatly admire your stamina and faith, Toni. You and your husband are undoubtedly an inspiration to many!

    • Thank you Nancy for your very kind comments. Yes, it has been quite the journey but the LORD’s abiding presence has kept us strong. Since the first moment of his accident, we have made it our mission to be a witness to the faithfulness and love of the LORD. I really liked your post. I just never have enough time in my day to read all of the posts I receive. I look forward to following your blog. Have a great day!

  9. Toni,
    I can’t imagine your daily struggle and challenges. But the strength of your faith is evident in your posts. God will provide and give you the strength you need, one day at a time. May you feel His peace and presence my Sister.

    • Thank you Julie! I truly appreciate you! 🙂


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

