Posted by: Toni Sprandel | August 1, 2013

Q: But how can I do that? A: Be Transformed

I have been really thinking about the LORD’s will since I wrote the blog ‘But how can I do that’.  The LORD keeps bringing the word “transform” to me.  I have a blog friend who has the word transform in her email and another blog friend has a verse with it in her main page.   I keep hearing songs with the word used.  I have read scriptures with the word be transformed in them.  So, as my mind does, it started to wonder.

What does “transform” have to do with aggressively seeking the LORD’s will?  And in relation to being a follower of Christ, what does it really mean for us to be transformed?  The verse that came to mind is Romans 12:2 where the Apostle Paul was speaking to the church in Rome.  I think this explains it really well.  Romans 12:2 says this: “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.” (NASB).  I really like the New Living Translation as I think it really makes this understandable: “Don’t copy the customs and behaviors of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think.  Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.”  You see, if we spend time reading the Word, studying it and memorizing it and praying about it, the LORD will do the transforming of our mind.  When we allow the Holy Spirit who lives and dwells within us to lead and direct our thoughts, He will show us what the LORD’s will is!  The LORD will do the work, we just need to be willing to spend time with Him and allow Him to change us.  When we do that, we will be aware of what the LORD’s will for our life is.

The Bible tells us that He will withhold no good thing from His children.  To me, that means He will open my heart, my mind and my eyes to what He wants me to do for Him, His will.  So let’s purpose today to allow the Spirit of the LORD to take control of our lives and transform our minds.  So how can we aggressively pursue the LORD’s will for our lives?  Allow the Holy Spirit to transform our minds.

Dear LORD Jesus, thank you so much for sending Your Spirit to come and live in my life.  May my life be spent aggressively pursuing Your Will for my life and may I faithfully fulfill Your purposes.  Amen.

Responses

  1. Toni, I LOVE the NLT: Don’t copy the customs and behaviors of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think.

    Made it SO much clearer!! Hope you’ve been well.
    Always a blessing… thank you!

    Marlene

    • Thanks so much! I really appreciate your loving support!

      • Same here Toni! thank you… and Happy Friday!!

  2. Toni, good to hear your meditations again. I believe I wrote this while you had stepped away a few wks. I share it knowing you share the reverence. No obligation to “like.” =) Just wanted to bless you, dear sister.

    http://aholisticjourney.wordpress.com/2013/07/18/knowing/

  3. Toni, you did a wonderful job explaining how our outward life is changed through an inward change of mind and heart. Thanks! Lord bless you.

    • I am honored at your compliment. I try very hard to not lose Biblical accuracy in trying to explain the things that are on my heart. Your loving support of me and my blog mean the world to me. Thank dear brother! 🙂

  4. Thank you, Toni! Being transformed by renewing the mind has been something I’ve been pondering and trying to put into practice, too. It is not always easy to take my thoughts captive and make them obedient to Christ. So grateful for His tender mercies and grace.

  5. The general idea of being transformed is a metamorphosis…changing from one thing to another, i.e. a caterpillar to a butterfly. If life seems a little confining right now, it’s because you’re in a cocoon. Just wait until you see what emerges from the chrysalis!

    “Transformed” is a word I heard years ago and it stuck with me. To my great delight, it is what the Lord has been doing all along. Only I go from one cocoon to the next to the next…Oh, Lord, that we could be done with this process!

    \o/


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

