Posted by: Toni Sprandel | July 28, 2013

But how can I do that?

Our pastor’s sermon series is on the LORD’s prayer found in Matthew 6: 9-13.  This week he was speaking about the second part of verse 10 that states “Your will be done”.  I loved how the pastor exhorted us to “aggressively pursue the LORD’s will”.

As I listened and contemplated this comment, my mind kept going to the question ‘but how can I do that?’  In and of myself, I am completely powerless to accomplish this.  My frail and fractured human, sinful, selfish nature will not allow me to do this.  Self is always demanding to be first.  So how do we deny self and pursue the LORD’s will?  Great question, and I have an even better answer, we don’t!  Are you worried yet??  Don’t be!

When we receive Christ by faith, we begin an immediate personal relationship with Him.  Each new believer is given the gift of the Holy Spirit.  The Holy Spirit was sent so that God would be with and within His followers after Christ returned to heaven.  The Spirit is given to comfort us, guide us to know the truth, remind us of Jesus’ words, He gives us the right words to say and He fills us with power!  But, we aren’t robots, it isn’t going to just happen.  I believe it all goes back to our relationship to Christ.  If we are spending time trying to get to know Him more, then the Holy Spirit will make that happen.  As we know Him more, our desire for Him grows.  As our desire for Him grows, we want to be like Him.  And the more we want to be like Him, the more we will want to do what He wants us to do.  His Will, not mine.

So how can we aggressively pursue the LORD’s will for our life?  Understand that without the power of the Holy Spirit, leading, guiding and directing our life, we can’t.  We are incapable of doing it because we “want” to.  But, with the LORD God Almighty residing in us,  we can.  When a heart is surrendered to Christ, the Holy Spirit is there to guide us to the LORD’s will.

Dear LORD, I thank you for your gift of the Holy Spirit.  I am so thankful that you gave me the Holy Spirit to live in me, to teach, to lead, guide and direct my steps.  It is because of Your Spirit, that I can aggressively pursue Your Will for my life.  Thank you LORD Jesus!

Responses

  1. Amen and well said, Toni. We so easily ignore the Holy Spirit and we end up doing things in our own strength – and we accomplish nothing in the spirit.

    • Thank you for your kind comments. I struggled with writing this post, wanting the words to say exactly what I felt the LORD was trying to tell me. You are correct, on our own, we are unable. Have a great day!

  2. AMEN what a blessing Toni! How true it is without the Lord “we can do nothing”, but with Him, we can do “all things”!

    Thanks for the reminder.

    • Thank you and you are welcome. I am so grateful that I can write what the LORD presses upon my heart to write.


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

