Posted by: Toni Sprandel | July 27, 2013

Grace

I was reading through some of the blog posts that arrived in my email and found this comment by Brother Rob Barkman:

” The term “grace” is used many times in both the OT and the NT of the  KJV Bible…

In the Old Testament, it is translated from the Hebrew word “chen” which means:
1. precious kindness
2. pleasant favor

In the New Testament, it is translated from the Greek word “charis” which means:
1.  undeserved benefit or gift
2.  that which produces happiness, rejoicing, thankfulness
3.  to be made acceptable

The idea is this…
The term “grace” means “undeserved favor that makes one acceptable and produces a thankful and joyous attitude. “

As a true believer on the LORD Jesus Christ, we are all under grace.  We have all received the undeserved favor that makes us acceptable.  So why then are we not exhibiting the thankful and joyous attitude that it says it produces?  Too many times, I see brothers and sisters in Christ who have NO joy and are definitely not thankful.  Do we really understand what has been done for us by Jesus?  Do we truly comprehend the magnitude of what has been done for us?

To me, if we really, truly understood what has been done, we would have no problem being thankful and joyous.  The undeserved favor we have received should cause each and every one of us to be the most joyous and thankful people on the planet.

Dear LORD Jesus, I thank You from the bottom of my heart for the undeserved favor you have showered upon me.  May my life be a sacrifice of praise and joy and thanksgiving to You for what you have done for me.  Thank you Jesus, thank you.


Responses

  1. That is brilliant! I love it

    • Thank you. Some of my blogs I am so worried that I am coming across as judgmental. I truly don’t mean to be, I just desire the LORD’s best for all of us and try to exhort us all to be all that He wants us to be. It is my passion for the LORD that drives me.

      • No way, not judgmental at all; you can’t go wrong with passion 🙂

  2. Judgmental? Um, no!

    Loved the connection between undeserved favor and gratitude. Without thankfulness, we’re bound to remain unchanged.

    Gratitude is the key to a beautiful day, as well. It’s hard to be in the dumps when I’m remembering what I have for which to be thankful!

    \o/


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories