Posted by: Toni Sprandel | June 17, 2013

June – A month of my Favorite Quotes

#7 June 17, 2013: “My prayer is that if Jesus can be seen nowhere else, He might be seen in your life and mine.  Because He is the One-the only One-Who makes: God visible, and change possible, and happiness attainable, and resources ample, and suffering understandable, and sin forgivable, and heaven available!  Which is why our hearts’ cry is, ‘Just give me Jesus!’ ”  Anne Graham Lotz, “Just give me Jesus”

I have had this book a long time.  I have not ever completely finished it.  I pick it up, read a little, then get interrupted and distracted and find it has been months til I pick it back up.  But, I read books different then normal people (note, I know I am not normal!).  I read the beginning few pages, read the ending, and then go read some in the middle.  This is my test to see if it is truly worth my time.  This book passed the test, but I have to admit, it is a big book with lots of chapters.  So, I have to finish it.

As I read the ending, this quote really struck a beautiful chord within my soul.  Anne’s prayer is my prayer.  If we as fully devoted followers of Christ Jesus could ALL make this our prayer, don’t you think that the world would see and take note?

Dear LORD Jesus, please allow Your Holy Spirit to take control of my life.  Infuse my spirit and soul with all that is YOU.  May my life be a thank offering to You and let the world see Jesus in me as I cry out, “Just give me Jesus!”  Amen.

Responses

  1. Amen!

  2. Makes me want to pick up and finish the 2 or 3 partly finished books I have laying around the house. What gems of truth am I missing?

    • Agree, I have too many also. Thanks Julie!

  3. We, too are an unfinished “book”! The most assuring thing is…He has already wrote it, read it, and will complete us to His glory!! Many blessings Sis! Love…peace…grace…

    • OMG!! I had never thought of it like that! Thanks for your thoughts! Love you!

  4. Hi, –new to your blog — this being the 1st post I’m reading. That first opening paragraph was absolutely beautiful! I also like the name “thinkinaboutjesus”. I think I’ll be back.

    • Thank you so much! My life is and will always be about Jesus. I just can’t ever give back what He has given to me. But I sure am going to try! I am so glad you stopped by and I look forward to reading your blog also!!

  5. Amen!

  6. So now I have A. B. Simpson’s hymn “Jesus Only” running through my head.

    Jesus only, Jesus ever, Jesus all in all we sing,
    Savior, Sanctifier, and Healer, Glorious Lord and coming King.

    I will have to get out my hymnal and remind myself of all six verses! And I’ll love singing that all day today. Thanks for your post!

    Jesus Only!

    • You are very welcome! I love when the LORD gives me this kind of inspiration, telling my what to write and it resonates with others. Thank you for reminding me, I have a hymnal here at the house, I will get it out and sing that song too!


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

