Posted by: Toni Sprandel | June 6, 2013

Where is Jesus?

I really don’t know where to start with this one.  But I just keep having this nagging, yearning and longing for Jesus to be in the world.  I look around, I listen, and earnestly search for Jesus but, I struggle with finding Him.  As a believer He is living in us, but does anyone know that?

The days of AB Simpson, Charles Spurgeon, CS Lewis, AW Tozer, and DL Moody are long gone.  But what these men had in common was a love for Jesus, desire to share that love and a passion to make Jesus known to anyone and everyone they came into contact with.  They were spirit filled and spirit led!  AB Simpson spawned a new denomination, without trying.  He just wanted to preach to immigrants in NYC and knew there was a whole big world out there that also needed to hear about Jesus.  DL Moody stood on the street corners of Chicago to share the good news of Jesus Christ to anyone passing by.  Today we have the Moody Bible Institute because of this; training a new generation of leaders leading the charge for sharing the good news.  CS Lewis used his gift of writing to share about Jesus.  Spurgeon was an awesome preacher.  AW Tozer was also a pastor, author, lover of Jesus.

Where have all the old time preachers gone?  They preached the message of Christ.  And the message of Jesus is the only one that will save someone’s soul from eternal damnation.  Where is the new generation of followers of Christ that the LORD is trying to raise up?

It is the responsibility of each and every believer to share their testimony of what Jesus has done in their life.  It’s not about sitting in the church pew every Sunday for an hour and then going back to life.  If we are born again, then we have the Holy Spirit within us.  Jesus is living in us.  How much of Jesus is showing up through me?  Where is Jesus?  He lives within me and I need to be His witness.  I may not be a Tozer, Spurgeon, Moody, Lewis or Simpson, but my heart’s desire is that when someone looks at me, they don’t have to say, “where is Jesus?”

Responses

  1. Beautifully said. That is my prayer as well.

    • Thank you, I really struggled with it, not knowing how to express what I felt! So glad to have you in my life again!

  2. Lewis, Spurgeon….you name my heroes.

    • Other than Billy & Franklin Graham, there is no one to preach Jesus like they all did. The message is being lost in political correctness.

      • And in “seeker sensitivity”…eeeggggh.

        *Shudder*

      • So true and so sad!


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

