Posted by: Toni Sprandel | June 5, 2013

I Thessalonians 5:16-18

Sorry I have not been consistent with my writing.  Life happens and things tend to weigh me down.  I become overwhelmed with life and feel so ADD that I have no clue where to begin.  So I decided to share exactly what I have been thinking about.

How do I make myself stretch so I can do all of the 95 million bazillion things I need, want, have to, and can do, all at the same time??  Sadly the answer keeps coming back to me, “you my dear, CAN’T!”  Bwah, Bwah, Bwah, but I want, need, have to, and can do them all, I promise!!!  And again the LORD speaks slowly, quietly and gently to my soul and comforts me with His words.  Me, myself and I, are totally useless, on our own.  When I try, I become cranky, bossy, grumpy, unloving, ungracious, ungrateful and downright difficult to live with.  Hmmmmm….  Not a very good picture of Jesus.  If Christ lives in me, and I look like that, I am sinning.

But, my loving Saviour Jesus whispers in my ear, the words I need to hear.  “Be joyful always, pray continually and give thanks in ALL circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”  Ouch!!! Can’t say I have done that any too well lately.

When life overtakes me and I don’t make the time for Him, it truly shows.  But He loves me so He doesn’t allow me to stay that way.  His will for my life is so much better than anything I can do on my own.  With His power, strength, love and mercy, grace and peace leading me, I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me (Phil 4:13).  Including, being joyful even when I am overwhelmed with life, having a prayerful attitude thru a busy day, consulting with the LORD on every decision/word of my mouth.  And the greatest part is that when I am joyful and praying, I can give thanks in ALL (I just really hate that word! LOL) circumstances.

Thank you Jesus for never leaving or forsaking me, but always loving me.

Responses

  1. I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed myself with all the things I need, want, and have to do, too. Thank you for sharing your heart, your struggles, and the encouragement and exhortation you received from the Lord. \(^_^)/

    • Oh Rene you are so welcome! That is what my blog is all about. Sharing how Jesus is my life and without Him…well, I would be in trouble. Thank you for stopping by, and your kind words!

  2. […] I Thessalonians 5:16-18. […]

  3. What a blessing!! Your vulnerability is a rare gift to find! The inner workings of our hearts in His hands is what we need most to reveal where His wonder-working power transforms!
    Ahhh…sweet Sister in Yeshua (Jesus) our Shepherd…know that cocoon times come often in the transforming of our human souls to take flight! “Inactivity” is often, I find, where He is shaping me most…I call them “slumps”…teehee. Not struggles with sin per say, but times where I “feel” useless and stretch hard to do almost anything. Usually there’s no “reason” I can find for these times…at least not while I am in them.
    I also find it interesting that they hit many at the same time…hmmmm…an attack?? I’ma think in so.
    Feel free to email me when these “hit”…I will hold you up in prayer! Slands61@hot mail.com
    Thank you for your post…well worth the wait!! Much love, grace and peace in The Perfecter of our Trust, Yeshua the Messiah…:-)

  4. Amen! Thanks for sharing Toni! 🙂

  5. Hang in there and do a good job of it so you can tell me how it’s done, k? I’m really overwhelmed as well. Been praying for you, though. 😉

    \o/

    • And I am praying for you and your sister and her son! Come Lord Jesus come! Anytime now! Love you!

      • My dear sister (whose son we’re praying for) is another “sister” I found in Blogville! She’s not my blood sister…don’t have one. I guess I should have made that a little clearer. You’re about the 5th person to ask!

        \o/


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

