Posted by: Toni Sprandel | May 27, 2013

Happy Memorial Day

Monday May 27th, 2013

My birthday is 3 days away, May 30th.  Years ago, that tells you how old I am, May 30th was Memorial Day.  It was an assigned day. It was my birthday.  So when our family attended parades, had cookouts and all sorts of celebrations, what would any young child think?  It was a party to celebrate my birthday!  None of my sisters or brothers got a big party like I did.  I was so proud, a special day, just for me!

Well, not exactly.  As I grew up, I found out the “real” reason for all the celebrating.  It wasn’t in honor of my birthday.  Sad as it was for me to find out we were celebrating something else, I was honored to share my birthday with all of those who made the ultimate sacrifice for us to live in freedom.  Memorial day is a day of remembrance.  We remember what our freedom truly costs.  The men and women who gave their lives are to be remembered.  May we never forget what they did for us.

As I was meditating on this, it also brought to mind another sacrifice, for freedom.  The one that Jesus made, to free us from the bonds of slavery to sin.  He secured our freedom from sin, just like the soldiers free us from tyranny.  So today, as we celebrate this Memorial Day, remembering those who gave their lives for freedom, please also remember Jesus, as He too gave His life for the freedom we have.

May we humbly remember them all.  In Jesus name, amen.

Responses

  1. As we celebrate the sacrifice of those who ensured our freedom as US citizens, this is a great reminder about the freedom Jesus bought us all at the cross. Thank you, Lord! We remember.

  2. Happy Birthday! Our youngest son has the same birthday! May God Bless you on this day and all the days to come, Amen.

    • Thank you! I am truly blessed with the most wonderful friends that I have never “met”. The blogging community of which you & I are a part of, is the most supportive and loving I have ever met! Happy birthday to your son!


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

