Posted by: Toni Sprandel | May 14, 2013

May – A Month of Introspection

For some reason, my mind is always going.  And I keep having these questions go through my mind.  They are challenging me in my thoughts and relationship with the LORD.  So I have decided to make this month my 20 questions month.  These questions are meant to challenge me and you in our Christian walk.  My desire is that each day we look at our lives and evaluate where we are in our relationship with Christ.  Please take a few minutes each day and reflect on the question.  I welcome questions (don’t always have the answer, but I do know where to find it!).  I would love to hear from some of you if you feel led to share.  Thank you in advance!

May 14th, Question #12:  I was thinking about the rich young man and his question to Jesus in Luke 18:18-23.  “Good Teacher, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?”  In verse 22 Jesus said this: “…sell all that you possess and distribute it to the poor, and you shall have treasure in heaven; and come, follow Me.”  Verse 23 shares the response of that young man, “but when he heard these things, he became very sad, for he was extremely rich.”  That was all the young man needed to hear, he decided he just couldn’t do it.  He walked away from the most important gift he would have ever received.  He decided to keep all his earthly gain, and forfeited the riches waiting for him in Heaven.  His earthly “things” became a hindrance to following Christ.  This spoke to me personally about what am I harboring that is a hindrance to complete surrender and obedience to Jesus?  What do I need to sacrifice to become a fully devoted follower of Christ Jesus?

May your heart be blessed today.

Responses

  1. But remember!! It also said…
    And Jesus loved him! This was a moment in time for this YOUNG man…God wasn’t finished with him! 🙂
    If I had a nickel for every time God “called me out” on something and I walked away sad…I would be “rich” (no pun intended 🙂 ). We learn from others and find we do the same…this is why we are a body!!
    Love this Sister Toni…may God be with you…


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

