Posted by: Toni Sprandel | April 23, 2013

In the end, does it really matter?

For some reason I really can’t explain, I have had this thought in my mind, about causes.  We just had earth day.  On Facebook there are a lot of different causes that people share about.  Causes can be anything really, that people are concerned about and put their efforts into.  Most of them are very worthwhile and worthy of our time and effort.

Some of the causes that people are involved in help people, some help animals and some help the earth and our environment.  Other causes may not be as positive and helpful, ones in which radical ideas get promoted and negative things happen.  We are passionate about our causes.  Thinking about them and getting involved in them just gets us fired up.  We spend lots of time, energy and money on them.  I would say that most of them have very positive benefits in which a real need is met.

But, in the end, does all our work for these causes really matter?  The Bible is very explicit in saying that all our good deeds are like filthy rags.  It also says that there is not one who is good, no not one.  In the end, what does really matter?

Well, from what I have learned over the years of reading the Word, only what was and is done for Christ will last.  If we do not know Christ, our works are empty, they have no eternal value.  If we are in Christ, then what we do for Christ will have eternal worth.  It all begins and ends with Jesus.  If you do not know Him, you need to be introduced to Him.  It will be the best thing you have ever done.  If you do know Him, ask Him what He would like you to be doing for Him.  Are the causes and things I am doing, are they things that will have a lasting and eternal value?

If Christ is not first and foremost in all that you do, in the end, your efforts really won’t matter.

Dear LORD Jesus, please show me today exactly what You would like for me to do that will bring glory and honor and praise to You.  May the causes I support have You at the center.  Thank you Jesus.

Responses

  1. And faith without deeds…
    I find myself looking at this kind of question fairly often. I keep thinking I need to keep a close eye on the use of my time and energy. I want whatever I do to be useful and honoring to the Lord.

    Whatever you do, whether eating or drinking, or whatever you do, do it as unto the Lord, not for men. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. (Jen Paraphrase?)

  2. […] In the end, does it really matter?. […]


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

