Posted by: Toni Sprandel | April 19, 2013

Am I going through the motions??

This morning as I was finishing up getting my husband ready for the day, I heard the Matthew West song, The Motions.  After the song finished, the words of the chorus just kept going through my mind.  Some of the words just really hit home.

“Cuz just okay’s not enough.”  “I don’t wanna go through the motions”  “I don’t wanna go one more day, without your all consuming passion inside of me.”  “I don’t wanna spend my whole life asking, ‘What if I had given everything instead of going through the motions?’ ”

For the true follower of Jesus, just okay is NOT enough.  We shouldn’t want to “go through the motions”.  We shouldn’t want to go days “without your all consuming passion inside of me.”  And we should never be asking “what if I had given everything?”.

If we truly are a follower of Jesus, His Spirit is living in us.  If we are allowing Him to have complete control of our lives; to take us where He wants us to go, to do what He wants us to do we would never be saying any of these things.

But too often, we do just start going through the motions.  The reasons are as varied as we are.  I think we get caught up in living our lives and the busyness of family life.  Pretty soon, I believe we drift farther and farther from the LORD.  Our fire and passion we had the day we acknowledged our sinfulness and accepted Christ’s sacrifice on our behalf, it begins to grow dim.

We still serve and do things, but where is our passion?  Where did our all consuming passion go?  Life as we live it, sucks it out of us.  The enemy knows if he can keep us busy and our minds focused on “doing” things, we will lose our focus.

The only way I know to get the passion and fire back in our lives is to go to the source.  We need to stop “going through the motions” and look to the LORD.  Seek His face, desire to spend time with Jesus and begin working on a personal relationship with Him.  Yes, I said a personal relationship with Jesus.  Just like our family relationships take time and effort, our relationship with Jesus is the same.  Spend time in the Word, read the book of John, or the book of Psalms.  You can laugh, cry, sing, praise, love and thank Him.

Spending quality time alone with Jesus every single day will keep us from having the regrets in the song.  We won’t have to go through the motions, we won’t have to spend one more day without our all consuming passion.  We certainly wouldn’t have to worry about saying “what if I had given everything”. Jesus will provide all that we need including the desire to know Him more.  And we will want to give Him everything we have, and more.

Establishing, developing and growing in our personal relationship with Jesus will keep us from ever having to say any of the those words.  We will never have to ask ourselves “am I going through the motions?”  Thank you Jesus!

Responses

  1. Thank you for this article. That’s one of my favorite songs, too. If I have to live a life that has no passion, then what’s the point? Life with Jesus is a wild ride.

    May your words resound throughout the world, and the fruit for your labor be great, dear sister!

    1 Peter 4:11
    \o/
    Praise Jesus!


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

