Posted by: Toni Sprandel | April 10, 2013

Psalm 61

Hear my cry, O God; give heed to my prayer.

From the end of the earth I call to You when my heart is faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

For You have been a refuge for me, a tower of strength against the enemy.

Let me dwell in Your tent forever; let me take refuge in the shelter of Your wings.

For You have heard my vows, O God; You have given me the inheritance of those who fear Your name.

You will prolong the King’s life; his years will be as many generations.

He will abide before God forever; appoint lovingkindness and truth that they may preserve him.

So I will sing praise to Your name forever, that I may pay my vows day by day.

As I read this I felt like it had been written just for me for today.  Hear my cry, give heed to my prayer.  That is exactly how I felt.  Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.  I would like to say AMEN to that!  Lead me LORD to that rock!  For You have been a refuge to me, a tower of strength; and all I can say to those words is AMEN.  When I read the words ‘let me dwell in Your tent’ I thought of closeness.  The kind of closeness that  you feel when you are in a small, confined area.  Being close to the LORD is a real good thing!  The words ‘He will abide before God forever’ made me think of heaven and how we will live eternally with the LORD.  What a wonderful thought.  It certainly puts this life into perspective.  The Bible tells us that our troubles here are ‘light and momentary’ in regards to all of eternity.  And to think that the LORD appoints lovingkindness and truth to preserve us.  Wow.

So, as the last verse says, “So I will sing praise to Your name forever!”  And that is what I choose to do .  Thank you LORD Jesus.

Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

