Posted by: Toni Sprandel | April 3, 2013

Some days I just feel like Elijah….

Elijah felt alone.  He ran away from Jezebel because she was out to kill him.  Jezebel worshipped the god of Baal and when Elijah’s God, the one true Living God, did what her gods could not, she was angry.  So Elijah ran away.  Out in the wilderness, Elijah sulked.  He felt afraid, depressed and abandoned.  He thought he was the only one left in Israel who believed in God.  Elijah struggled with his feelings, and I have to admit, I do too.

Some days, I feel like I am alone, here in my little town.   We do have churches, but I still feel alone.  Some days I feel like I am the only one who wants to be Jesus in the flesh to those around me.  I know I am not alone, it just feels like it some days.

Just as the LORD showed Elijah that He was not the only believer in Israel, the LORD showed me yesterday that I am not alone in my burden for my town.  Through a casual conversation with a friend at our grandson’s birthday party, I was told of a man who also had such a heavy burden for our town.  What an answer to prayer!  I have only been praying for the LORD to bring someone for 11 years.  And now, to know that someone else shares this burden with me, all I can say is PRAISE THE LORD!

I am praying now that we can get together soon with our spouses and share our burdens and concerns.  I pray that our vision, mission and burden are complementary and that through this meeting, we can bring the LORD glory, honor and praise.  May the Kingdom of the Most High God be increased through the power of the Holy Spirit working in the lives of us, the LORD’s servants.

Responses

  1. Wow Toni! You’re right, we share the same feelings. Those were my exact sentiments. Starting my blog took care of a lot of those feelings because I have met the most authentic people like you who have such a sincere devotion toward God, that it helped my wrestles heart feel more settled.

    Can’t believe you wrote this over 4 months ago (on my birthday) !~ It’s like it was written for me 🙂

    Praying that you guys and the other couple were able to connect and find a common passion point to serve your community and see God working in it?

    Hugs & Prayers to you today, you are such a blessing!

    Marlene

    • The LORD obviously had me write that for you as well as for me. What I was feeling I was able to put on paper, so that if others felt like I did, we could get-together. As the LORD promised Elijah that there were still 7000 faithful, I too found in Blogland many faithful witnesses. And as you say, our newfound brothers and sisters are authentic and love the LORD with all their hearts. Yes, the other couple and us started our Bible study and we continue to meet on Monday nights. We have had 16 adults in attendance. Thank you for asking. Thank you Marlene for your love and support of me and my blog. 🙂


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

