Posted by: Toni Sprandel | April 2, 2013

I could complain, you know…..

For all the things that I have going on in my life right now, well, I really could complain.  Let’s see, I find a kindergartner (our granddaughter) in my bed every day at 7:15am, get up, help her get fed and ready for school, take her to school, come home, get my quadriplegic husband up and into the bathroom to get him cleaned up, run out the door to meet the bus at the end of our street, get back into the house, become the “lunch lady” (everyone in our family knows that is an oxymoron statement), clean up lunch, get papa out of his wheelchair, help him walk around our island in the kitchen, get him to his lazyboy chair and get him all settled, help granddaughter get some homework done, do a load of laundry (that is just getting the water running to fill it, I might remember to go back and put the clothes in) do the dishes, straighten up the bathroom and clean out the tub, empty the trash cans, put away the laundry done 3 days ago and then I might get to sit down, only to have to help papa with restroom detail.  Did I mention that granddaughter has probably asked Grandma for help a time or two?  So I sit down at the computer because I just had this really great thought about something I want to write about, only to get here, and I can’t remember what it was I wanted to write about.  My husband firmly believes I have a case of adult ADD.  I guess it could be called that, and I could complain about that, but really, I think I am just trying to do 12 things at once, and get distracted…. oh, I guess that is ADD.

Believe me, I am NOT complaining.  I really could, I guess.  But why?  Why should I?  Maybe my life isn’t one of the most funnest (proper grammar for a child), but why would I complain?  One of the dearest scriptures I know is, “The joy of the LORD is my strength”.  I am not doing one ounce of this alone.  Were it not for the LORD and the strength, comfort, love, guidance, knowledge, wisdom and compassion He has showed me, I couldn’t do any of this!  Then I might really be able to complain.

How can I, a sinner, convicted and unclean, complain?  My LORD and My God suffered an agonizing, horrific death just so that I wouldn’t have to!  When was the last time I had a crown of thorns, crushed upon my skull, and I didn’t utter a word? NEVER.  I get a paper cut and think I’m dying.  When was the last time someone whipped my back into shreds of skin, and didn’t utter a word?  NEVER.  When was the last time I was made to carry a heavy wooden cross a mile down the road after being beaten, battered and bruised; and I didn’t utter a word?  NEVER.  When was the last time I allowed someone to nail my hand and feet to the cross and put me up on it; and I didn’t utter a word? NEVER.  But instead of complaining, Jesus made this comment, “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.”  Get the picture?  Did Jesus complain?  No.  So neither should I.  How can I after what He endured to bring me to Himself?

Isaiah 53:7 “He was oppressed and He was afflicted, yet He did not open His mouth; like a lamb that is led to slaughter, and like a sheep that is silent before its shearers, so He did not open His mouth.”

I want to be like Jesus; Jesus did not complain because of His circumstances, and they were a whole lot worse than mine.  So I could complain, but I choose not to.  Instead, I will Praise the LORD with me my mouth.  For He alone is worthy to be praised!

Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

