Posted by: Toni Sprandel | March 27, 2013

Exhausted

My husband is a quadriplegic and one of the exercise machines he has used to help strengthen his arms and legs is called a Nustep recumbent cross trainer machine.  Because of his instability to stand for any length of time, he needs to use an exercise machine that he can sit on and be stable.   He has used the Nustep during physical therapy and then when we attended the YMCA.   At one point in his usage of the Nustep, he was able to do 4,000 steps in 45 minutes.  For a quadriplegic, that is an incredible feat.

We have been contemplating purchasing one of these machines for here at home for quite a while.  But the machine is expensive and with our legal issues regarding our handicapped van, funds are nonexistent.   A friend whose husband is also a quadriplegic shared with me that they were applying for grants to help them pay for things they needed.

I have just spent the past two days filling out grant applications.  It is not just filling out a one page application with your name, address and phone number on it.  These applications are anywhere from 3 to 7 pages long asking everything.  They need financial data, a copy of his birth certificiate, pictures of him in therapy, videos of what he can do and photos of him with friends and family.  Along with all of that, we need a letter of certification that he is a quadriplegic from his physician and a letter from the physical therapist that he would benefit from having one of these machines.  And the questions, they go on, and on and on.  I am not done with them, but I am taking a break.  My brain feels frazzled, I feel exhausted.  I have poured myself out on the pages of these applications, sharing our struggles and what we need to get him better.

And then I thought about Jesus and how He poured out His life for all mankind.  Jesus was spending time with the disciples, trying to impart to them all that He could before He left.  He knew that His time here on earth was very short now.  I would have to believe that He used every single moment He had.  I just can’t imagine how mentally, physically and emotionally exhausting this process was for Jesus.  Dear LORD, may I have the strength of Jesus to do all that You would desire for me to do with my life.  Let me never get exhausted because I can do all things through Christ who strengthens and lives within me.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

