Posted by: Toni Sprandel | March 22, 2013

Wait upon the LORD

Isaiah 40:31a “Yet those who wait for the LORD will gain new strength…”

Waiting has got to be the absolute hardest thing that we ever do.  We have become so conditioned in our modern culture that we can have anything and everything right now!  Everything is done in an instant.  The pace of our society is fast, fast and faster.  Most days I feel like I have just gotten off of a treadmill.

It is so hard to read this verse.  Just like a petulant child, who wants their own way and they want it now.  I want my answer LORD and I want it now!  I know I am guilty of this.  And maybe that is why we don’t always get what we want right away.

The LORD knows what is best for us.  And He knows what we need.  He gives us these times of waiting for our good.  I see this verse as a promise we can cling to.  Those who do wait for the LORD, it says WILL gain new strength.  It doesn’t say maybe or sometimes, it says WILL.  To me, that is a statement of fact.  If we can sit down, relax, take a breath and concentrate on who the LORD is, we will remember that He is loving, gracious, merciful and kind and He will give us exactly what we need when we need it.  And all according to His timetable.  His will, His way.

Waiting is always hard, it is not in our human nature to sit around and wait.  So as my husband & I sit here waiting to hear from our legal counsel, we will use this time to read, pray and meditate on the Word.  In this way, while we are waiting, we are gaining new strength, strengthened by His Word.

So LORD, I will wait upon you and trust in your unfailing love and faithfulness to me.

Responses

  1. Heard a preacher on the radio yesterday saying to wait on the Lord for he will give you the answer when the time is right. Praise God


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

