Posted by: Toni Sprandel | March 16, 2013

Who am I boasting about?

This morning as I was reading Psalm 44, I was struck by it.  It speaks of trials/problems and not really seeing/knowing if the LORD is present.  Often we go through things in our lives where we feel like the bottom is falling out from under us.  Being in a free fall doesn’t sound like much fun to me.  I guess if you were a parachutist, you might enjoy that, not me.  So what do we do when we have those feelings, such as where is the LORD when I need Him now?  This psalm shows us that if we remember what the LORD has done for us, it is easier to trust Him, even though we don’t see Him, in the times of trial and upheaval in our lives.

Many times in our lives, once we get through our trials, we often say things like, “I am so glad it is over, I made it,” or maybe “I got through that”.  We generally tend to take the credit for getting through it.  But as I reread some of these verses, it showed me something different.  We  as believers don’t get through things like trials and problems on our own.  Look at verses 5 and 7, this is what the writer says: “Through you …..; Through your name…; You have saved us…; You have put to shame…..”.  I like what these verses say, they are giving all the credit to the LORD, knowing who their helper is.   And even if we don’t see Him or feel His presence, He is there.  Verse 8 says this: “In God we have boasted all day long, and we will give thanks to Your name forever.”

This is such a great reminder for us.  When times get tough, remember what the LORD has done and hang on to His promises in the Word.  Then we too can boast in what the LORD has done and give thanks to His name forever too.

In whom or in what do we boast?  Only the LORD is worthy of our boasting.  So I will say as the psalmist does “In God will I boast all day long and give thanks to Your name forever.”

Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

