Posted by: Toni Sprandel | March 15, 2013

Am I available?

Good question, am I available?  In the book of Isaiah 6:8 it says this: “Then I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, ‘Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?’  Then I said, ‘Here am I.  Send me!’ ”  Isaiah heard the LORD calling out, seeking those whose hearts were receptive and willing to heed His call.  Isaiah responded to the call.  Have we also heard this voice?  What was our response to the call of the LORD on our life?  Was it the same as Isaiah’s?

What is really neat, I had been thinking and meditating on “being available” as a new blog.  So this morning as my hubby and I sat on edge of the bed reading our morning devotions, today’s just happened to be from Isaiah 6:8!  The LORD instantly confirmed to me that this is where HE wanted me to go today with my thoughts and writing.  How incredible is that! It always puts a smile on my face when the LORD confirms things like that!

The devotions we read from were “Truth for today, a daily touch of God’s grace” by John McArthur.  Pastor McArthur asks these questions: “So are you available?  Are you a worshiper? Is your intent and purpose in life focused on the Person of Christ?…That also means being centered on the Word because the Word is where Christ is seen…  As Christ came into the world to give His life to bring people to Himself, so you must do likewise.”

I heard the LORD say to my heart, “whom shall I send?” and I, like Isaiah, said “Here I am, Send me!”  Ok, so I asked Him to send me, but where in the world am I supposed to go?  That’s another really good question.  My “go” is being who I am in Christ and doing what the LORD has equipped me to do.  My “go” is here where I live.  I can’t “go” somewhere else because of caring for my husband, so my computer and the social networks are my “go”.

The LORD has allowed me to be a sponge and soak up His Word and His teachings.  All the good things I have chosen to fill my life with to “grow in the grace and knowledge of the LORD” have equipped me.  Being equipped by Him, I am to be His light in the world.  I responded to the LORD and told Him, I am available.  My “go” is sharing the love of Christ and pointing people to Him, with any and all of the blessings He has given me.  Our purpose in life is to Glorify God; and when we point others to Christ, this brings much glory and honor and praise to His Most Holy Name.   Will you answer His call to be available?

Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

