Posted by: Toni Sprandel | March 14, 2013

It’s personal to me….

Most of us have seen the chick flick “You’ve got mail”.  I love that movie.  I am not really sure why, but it is such a feel good movie, the guy gets the girl and the girl gets the guy.  Ahhhhh, love!  Isn’t it wonderful!  So what does all this have to do with the title of this blog?  Well, I’ll tell you.

In the movie, Tom Hank’s big box bookstore puts Meg Ryan’s little cozy “mom & pop” bookstore out of business.  He really was trying to be nice, and he said “it’s not personal”.  But Meg Ryan shot back her reply, “it might not be personal to you, but it is personal to me!”  And that comment made me think.

What was the difference?  It wasn’t personal to Tom because, he didn’t have any emotional attachment to it.  But it was personal to Meg, it was her mother’s store and she had a very strong emotional attachment to it.

I believe that can also apply to us with our spiritual lives.  It won’t be personal to us if we don’t have some kind of emotional attachment to it.  So the question is, how do we make it personal, get emotionally attached?  When I was just starting the Evangelism Explosion training, there was a question they asked.  Their question was, “If you were to die today and go to heaven, and God asked you ‘why should I let you into my heaven’ what would you say?  I sat there awhile thinking about it.  As I sat there, I looked up and saw Jesus on the cross, He looked at me and said ‘I did this for you’.  He died on that cross to pay the penalty of my sin so that I could go to Heaven to live with Him eternally.  Friends, that’s personal.  Someone died to save my soul.  When I thought about it, I did become emotional.  My heart was overwhelmed and overcome with emotion.  I was now emotionally attached, to Jesus.  For me, it was thinking about the cross, the reality of it – Jesus took my place on the cross and died for ME.  It is personal to me.

Friends, look at the cross, look at Jesus’ face.  He is looking at you with love in His eyes.  And He whispers to your heart, “I did this for you“.  Is that personal enough for us to have an emotional attachment?  It was for me.

Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

