Posted by: Toni Sprandel | March 13, 2013

What to do for hopelessness and despair

Have you ever felt hopeless, been in despair?  Have you ever just felt totally wiped out, that you can’t even cry out?  I do at times.  And I believe that there are probably a lot of people out there who can relate.  In fact, I believe that there are more feelings of hopelessness and despair in the world today than there were 20 years ago.

Times have certainly changed for our generation.  So what can we do to stem the tide of these feelings?  My only response can be, look to the LORD.  He alone is bigger, stronger and above all that is happening in this world.  As I sat at the table and was reading the Word this morning, I was reading in Psalm 42.  And in reading it, I came upon a couple of verses that really spoke to me.  The author of this psalm was pouring his heart out to the LORD.  Verse 5a says this: “Why are you in despair, O my soul?  And why have you become disturbed within me?”  Verse 6a says: “O my God, my soul is in despair within me…”  This man is obviously suffering and he is pouring his heart out to the LORD.  But in this psalm, the author makes a decision, and that is to trust in the unfailing love and kindness of the LORD.  In verse 5b he states this: “Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him for the help of His presence”.  And again in verse 11b he says: “Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him…”.

The author found that he could pour out his complaint to the LORD but, by the time he had done this, he remembered the faithfulness of the LORD.  He could change his attitude from hopelessness and despair to one of praise because he took the focus off of himself, and put it on the LORD.  His circumstances may not have changed, but his trust and faith in the LORD made it possible to move from them to hope.

When we are faced with hopelessness and despair, don’t be afraid to cry out and reach for the LORD.  One of the best ways to treat these feelings is to Praise the LORD.  He is there and He cares.

Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

