Posted by: Toni Sprandel | March 1, 2013

Good Friday

During the season of Lent, my mind often goes back to Jesus hanging on the cross, some 2000 years ago.  The events of that Friday have been well documented.  Max Lucado wrote a book called “Six hours one Friday” and it was amazing.  He writes in a way that anyone (even me) can understand.  His writings are very personal and to the heart.

In his book, he goes into detail about what happened on that fateful Friday.  “Those six hours were no normal six hours.  They were the most critical hours in history.  For during those six hours on that Friday, God embedded in the earth three anchor points sturdy enough to withstand any hurricane.” (pg 25)  The three anchor points that Max makes are this: 1) My life is not futile, 2) My failures are not fatal, and 3) My death is not final.  Max calls these the anchor points of the cross.  And aren’t these the things that we all want to believe?  The subtitle of the book, Anchoring to the Power of the Cross tells us exactly what we need to do.  To prove these three points true, we anchor ourselves to the Cross of Christ.

Most of us know about the events surrounding Jesus’ death on the cross.  But in this book, Max goes a step further and explains the significance of the events.  Even if you never read the book, the anchor points he makes are worthwhile to ponder.  Knowing that my life is not futile is so encouraging to me.  Understanding that my failures are not fatal is uplifting.  The fact that my death is not final is exceedingly joyful news to me.  Because of what happened in those six hours, we have a sure hope; we have anchors we can hold onto.

And all of this is possible because God allowed His Son Jesus to go to the cross and be crucified, to pay the penalty of sin and redeem us back to Himself.  John 19: 30 says: “….He said, ‘It is finished!’ And He bowed His head and gave up His spirit.”  When I was involved in Evangelism Explosion, our workbook explained this.  “On the cross Jesus endured the wrath of God, the infinite wrath of God.  Even the sun hid its face as the God-man descended into hell for us. Finally when the last sin had been paid for, Jesus said, ‘It is finished!’ “.  The workbook goes on to explain that in the original text it is written as “Tetelestai”.  I love saying that word, it just seems to roll off my tongue.  The word tetelestai is a commercial word (I had heard it was an accounting term) which means “It is paid; the debt is paid”.  Romans 6:23 says “The wages of sin is death”.  Someone has to pay the debt of sin that every human being owes, and Jesus did that for us; for every single man, woman and child.  The workbook also says “It is paid.  It is purchased.  With his own passion on the cross, Jesus secured a place in heaven for his own people.”  How wonderful, I don’t have to pay for it, Jesus already did and I can have eternal life as a gift.

They call the day Good Friday.  It certainly was for us who believe, but I really feel bad for Jesus.  The pain, suffering, and wrath of God that He endured on our behalf, it is totally incomprehensible.  It was not a good day for Him.  But I will live my life in humble, grateful, thankful appreciation for what He did.  For me, it truly was a Good Friday.

Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

