Posted by: Toni Sprandel | February 13, 2013

Heaven or Hell – our choice

Since the passing of my father, I have been thinking a lot about where we go when we die. I guess when you lose someone, you immediately have thoughts of heaven and hell. Heaven is a place we want to go, it is paradise. Hell is a place we don’t, it is a place where there is weeping and gnashing of teeth.

So the question begs to be asked, who determines where we go? We each do. Each human being must make a choice before we die. When we choose to accept the gracious and merciful gift of God, the gift of eternal life found in accepting Jesus’ death for our sins, we are choosing heaven. We must believe that He is God, He came to pay the penalty of our sins, died on the cross to pay that penalty, and accept this on our behalf, understanding we are sinners in need of a Saviour. If we aren’t sure we want to follow Christ (not accepting or rejecting God’s gift of eternal life) we are then choosing Hell. We can not be lukewarm or half-hearted, we can not sit on the fence. We must make a choice. If we downright reject the gift (Jesus), we also choose Hell.

Because the LORD is Holy and Just, he can’t allow our sin to go unpunished. And we all sin, the Bible tells us ‘all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God’. The penalty must be paid. And the penalty for sin is death. So instead of making us pay the penalty, God sent His Son Jesus to do it for us. Jesus died a literal physical death so that we could enjoy our spiritual life in Heaven. Think about that, a real person, Jesus, died on a cross, a horrible, painful death so that I could spend eternity with Him in paradise. That thought strikes me to the heart, I am so unworthy! Thank you LORD Jesus!

And I say all of this so that we know there is only one way to get to Heaven, and it is through Jesus. John 14:6 tells us this: “I AM the Way, the Truth, and the Life, no one comes to the Father except through me.” We will never be good enough, or do enough good deeds to ever warrant getting into heaven on our own. We can never assume we are “good enough”. The Bible warns us about assuming we will automatically go to heaven because we are a good person. Matthew 7:21-23a says this: “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord,Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father who is in heaven will enter. Many will say to Me on that day, ‘Lord,Lord, did we not prophesy in Your name, and in Your name cast out demons, and in Your name perform many miracles?’ And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; DEPART FROM ME,….’ “. To me, those are the most frightening and sad words I could ever hear. Being told by Jesus that He never knew me, to depart, that I am denied entrance into Heaven, that would be heartbreaking.

The NASB Life Application Study Bible footnote says this about those verses: “Jesus exposed those people who sounded religious but had no personal relationship with him. On “that day” (the day of judgment), only our relationship with Christ-our acceptance of him as Saviour and our obedience to him-will matter. Many people think that if they are “good” people and say religious things, they will be rewarded with eternal life. In reality, faith in Christ is what will count at judgment.”

So what is our choice going to be? Can we make a decision? Waiting isn’t always a good option. We are not promised tomorrow. But I do know that my choice is for heaven. I have accepted the free gift of God, the gift of eternal life (spending eternity in Heaven with Jesus) and I know for certain, I will be there. Where will you be? Heaven or Hell?

Responses

  1. I am thankful every day for this dear and priceless…free and undeserved…gift from God! What peace and what joy it brings! I couldn’t imagine making ANY other choice but to serve Him with all my heart. Thank you for this wonderful reminder, Toni!

    • You are so welcome. I greatly appreciate your feedback! Thank you!


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

