Posted by: Toni Sprandel | February 11, 2013

Love is….

With Valentines day right around the corner I began to think about the word love and what it really is.  We hear it all the time and even more around Valentines Day.  Parents tell their children “I love you”, children tell their parents “I love you”.  Husbands and wives, boyfriends & girlfriends share the same words, “I love you”.  We also use the word love to show our feelings about some “thing”.  We say I love that car, or I love chocolate.  But love is…..?

Have we ever sat down and thought about what the word means?  I remember hearing a pastor preach on the word love.  He explained that there were actually 3 different Greek words for our English word love. Love can be: 1. Agape – God’s unconditional love; 2. Philia – Brotherly love; 3. Eros – romantic love.

Most of us understand philia love; it is the brotherly kind of love that we have for our dear friends, a kinsmenship.  Eros is the love between a husband and wife.  This love is a very special love given to man by God and meant to seal/bond their relationship so that the two shall be made one.

Agape love, God’s unconditional love is probably the least known and understood by the general population.  Those of us who have grown up in church have heard about agape love.  I John 4:8b says “….God is love”.  It is WHO He is.  Love is one of His attributes.  And His love is unconditional.  To me, the greatest thing is that He can’t NOT love, because it is who He is.  I John 4:10 says this, “This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins”.  This tells me that love is initiated by God.  Love is his posture toward the human race, it begins with God.  And the other thing I see about the love the Father has for us, it is sacrificial in nature.  He loved us so much and knew we were separated from Him because of our sin problem, so he sacrificed His Son as the atoning sacrifice for our sins.  He who knew no sin (Jesus) became sin for us.  Love is from God.  Love is sacrificial. 

I John 4:11 “…since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another”.  God is love and Jesus expressed that love by coming down from heaven and spent 3 years teaching the disciples about it.  John 13:34 says “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another.”  If we are true followers of Jesus, we will do as He commands us.  And He commands us to love.  Love is to be shared. 

I Corinthians 13:4-8a says this; “Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.  Love never fails….”.  Love is a humble servant.

Love is…incredible….amazing….unbelievable…a gift from God.  

  

Responses

  1. Great post! Its so important to be filled with Gods love so we can pour it out on others. Thanks for sharing this important message. 😀

  2. This is the foundation of not just my ministry but my life and especially the First Epistle of John! Chapter 4 happens to be my favorite chapter in the whole Bible and it is so great to see others taking the concept AND application of love beyond words and directly applying it to actions! I have been blessed to base my teachings on this for many, many years, but there have been times when I have been told I “preach” too much about love and not enough about “judgment” or some other such topic. Well, I am a fundamental, full-gospel, Bible believing minister and I do preach the WHOLE word of God, but the foundation is not just the Apostle John’s words, but Jesus’ words as well as found in Matthew 22:36-40, “Teacher, which is the great commandment in the law?” Jesus said to him,” ‘You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ “This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ “On these two commandments hang all the Law and the Prophets.”
    I look at these Scriptures and what I see is the WHOLE Word of God! Everything the prophets and patriarchs, Jesus and His disciples tried to teach us would come under these two commandments, if we would only but practice them as Jesus stated, “with our whole heart, soul and mind!”
    Any way, you can ask some of these other ministers of His Word I mentioned, I do get a little (okay a lot) wordy. Sorry about that, but it doesn’t take away from the fact I’m thankful to the Lord for finding your site! God bless you as YOU continue to serve all of us with your inspiration and encouragement!

    • I love your words! You are not too wordy! Yes, the law and the prophets hang on those 2 commandments and they are the whole Word of the LORD! Thank you for your awesome encouragement to me! I am so totally happy and grateful you found my site! Love you dear brother in the LORD!

  3. Excellent post and very well written. So happy I found this this morning. God bless you.

    • Thank you very much. I am honored you found my blog. I am humbled by your kind words. I strive each day to be the Heart of Jesus. May the LORD bless you also today!

  4. Hi Toni! I have nominated you for a WordPress Family blog award! Please check it out 🙂 http://kingintraining.wordpress.com/2013/06/18/i-am-part-of-the-wordpress-family-award/

  5. It is so awesome to know that God lavishes me with such great love, and empowers me to love others. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you for the follow. Yes it is awesome to know that He lavishes His love upon! Too many times we forget that we are empowered by His Spirit that indwells us. May the LORD bless you richly! 🙂

  6. We are so blessed to be lavished by His amazing love and we need to turn around and lavish others with the love we have received from Him.

  7. Great post! Thank you!!

  8. Was just thinking about you….and then I saw it had been a while since I’d read your blog. Miss seeing you in my feed.


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

