Posted by: Toni Sprandel | December 31, 2012

My New Years Resolution

Every year we make New Years resolutions.  And each year, most of us fail to accomplish them in the long term.  I think I do ok for the few days, then, well, not so much.  If I make resolutions, I am always unsuccessful. If I am unsuccessful, then I am unhappy. If you are anything like me, I don’t like to be unhappy.

All of my resolutions (good efforts and desires) are fruitless, unless I allow the LORD to do through me what He wants done.  The best way I know to do this is by daily reading the Word.  What I have found to be successful in my life, is to begin reading the book of Psalms, starting with the first one on January 1st.  There are 150 of them and I try to read one a day.  I have been doing this for about 15 years now.  Each year I look forward to seeing what exciting things the LORD desires to show me.  And each year I feel like the LORD uses me more and more for His glory and less for my own selfish gain.

So, my new years resolution is, I resolve to not make a new years resolution. I will trust the leading, guiding and directing of my life by the Holy Spirit, to do what I miserably fail to do each year on my own efforts.  Happy New Year 2013!

Responses

  1. I don’t make resolutions because by nature of the beast, it’s such a “pull-yourself-up-by-the-bootstraps-and-do-better” dynamic that rules. I don’t think we need to make these if we remain open and tender to His pruning and growing us. =)


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

