Posted by: Toni Sprandel | December 21, 2012

My Christmas Wish

This year, as Christmas draws near, my heart’s desire is for all those who don’t KNOW Jesus, to allow Him to come into their lives.

Knowing Jesus, really knowing Him, is the best thing in the world to happen to me.  How can I a regular person, a sinner, know Jesus?  Good question, one I ask myself daily.  But thankfully, a question that He answers daily.

I can know Him because at one point in my life, I realized that I was never going to be good enough to get to heaven on my own.  A dear friend of mine shared that no one was or will be ever good enough.  She told me all I had to do was tell Jesus that I knew I was a sinner, ask Him to forgive my sins, and then ask Him to come into my life.  With a sincere heart, I prayed that little prayer.  My dear friend read a scripture to me that said I could know Him, personally.  And every day since then, He has been showing me more and more of His character.

So you ask, how does He do that?  Well, it is really simple.  I started reading the Bible.  I bought a study bible.  And that one taught me a lot, but it didn’t make things personal.  It was like giving me a bunch of head knowledge, but I really didn’t feel different, in my heart.  I bought a Life Application Study Bible and then the light turned on.  Everything I had learned now made sense and the footnotes helped me to apply the scriptures to my life.  Probably the most important thing I did was pray, daily, for wisdom, for learning, for understanding and most of all for the desire to know Jesus more and more each day.

The LORD promises us in the Bible that if we ask for wisdom, He will never refuse us.  There are many promises in the Bible and as I read, prayed and meditated, I found them all to be true.

My Christmas wish this year, is for all of you who do not KNOW Jesus, to know Him personally.  Take a moment, ask the LORD to open your heart and mind to WHO He is, and to allow you to KNOW Him personally.  God loves you and me soooooo much that He sent Jesus, His Son to come and show us exactly what the Father is like.  God gave us the best Christmas gift, but we have to ask Him to come into our lives and dwell with us.  He does not go where He is not invited.

May the Spirit of the LORD come upon you and give you the desire to Know Him personally.  That is my Christmas wish.

Responses

  1. I was sitting here in amazement as I had just finished sending an email prior to this and I was almost saying the very same thing that you wrote, it blessed me so much reading your words and brought to my mind how very, very blessed I am that I KNOW HIM who loved me before I was ever born, the ONE who reached down took hold of my hand and pulled me up from the miry clay and sat MY (personal) feet upon a ROCK. Never knowing that kind of unconditional love, I was taken aback by it, I couldn’t comprehend at first, how I could be loved like that when I had been so ugly, so lost, so WRONG…but so grateful. May I make a comment here on your blog that maybe someone gets on here that doesn’t know HIM and thinks we (Christians), are a bunch of nuts or what we believe is hokey, stupid, lame or whatever….THERE HAVE BEEN BILLIONS OF PEOPLE WHO HAVE GIVEN THEIR LIVES OVER TO GOD, all types, billionaires, millionaires, actors, scientists, scholars, homeless, prisoners, the average joe, teachers, ceo’s etc. etc. etc….now, what would make ANYONE ever do that??????????? BECAUSE something TANGLIBLE happens to you that YOU can not deny and when that THING happens, NOONE or NO THING can make you deny IT..you WILL know when HE comes into your heart…THAT’S how you KNOW you are born-again..YOU FEEL THE CHANGE IN YOUR HEART. It is the BEST present ANYONE can get….

    Thank you Toni for doing this…God bless you and Larry and may the LORD continue to use you both in the upcoming year ahead..

    love ya

    • Thank you for your kind words. Some days I just feel so compelled to share what is on my heart. Finding the time to do it is my biggest problem. I am blessed to have such encouraging friends! Love you!


Any thoughts? Questions?

Categories

